Endangered Species

What are Protected Species?

Certain species of plants and animals in Britain are protected by law. There are different levels of protection under different legislation. In general, for most protected species, it is an offence to kill, injure or disturb the animals, or damage or obstruct access to their place of shelter, whether intentional or not. Fines for an offence can be as much as £5000 per animal and/or up to six months imprisonment.

UK Protected Species are:


•    Great Crested Newt
•    Natterjack Toad
•    Smooth Newt
•    Palmate Newt
•    Common Frog
•    Common Toad


•    Otter
•    Dormouse
•    Red Squirrel
•    Pine Marten
•    Wild Cat
•    Bats
•    Water Vole